Wednesday, February 24, 2010

where we live (and other updates)

As everyone already knows, we moved recently. Seby and I got new jobs, which I'll go into a little more in a bit. But I thought I'd start by showing everyone our new place :) (well, kind of new. We've been here a few months now)


It's a duplex. We share this building with one neighbor.




Our front door.

Front yard: landscaped in the standard rock that is Arizona landscaping, of course. And dead flowers in my planters :( I've never been so good with plants. But I'm getting better. There are plants in the backyard that are alive and well :)

The living room.










Eat in kitchen. It's pretty big, actually. It was hard to get good shots of any one room just because of the angles. These are all sort of in sections.





Hallway. Clearly my husband had some influence on the artwork here. (Have I ever mentioned he LOVES football? Like more than I ever thought anyone could)


Bathroom. Looks tiny. It is tiny. I actually don't hate it though. We have a lot of storage in the hallway, so it's ok.


Bedroom.









Office.




And the "man cave" which is a very fitting name for this room. Our place is a two bedroom, with this somewhat odd addition off the back patio. You can't get to it from inside the house. This door is an entrance off the patio. It doesn't have a closet, but it is ventilated and linked into the AC system. It's a decent sized room, but it's long and narrow with a low ceiling. It's definitely a cave.


And yes, there are two TVs in there. Which I find incredibly ridiculous and my husband finds incredibly necessary, of course. Two sports games on at the same time? No problem! Want to play video games while you watch football? Got ya covered! (ridiculous, I know!)

Seby loves this room. It's his hang out and do whatever he wants to do room. I like it because it's a great place to keep his million guitars. (Ok, not a million. More like eight. That's a lot though!)

Patio.

Seby also loves this "room" See the grilling set up? Carnivore, for sure.


And the backyard. With our quirky, but fun (and free!) tree stump stools.

So that's our new place. It's way bigger than where we were at. Probably three times as big. It's also about a hundred dollars less per month than where we lived before (which sort of shows how messed up the housing market is right now, but we're on the winning end of that deal right now so of course we're happy)

We pretty much love it :) It took me some time for me to get adjusted, but I'm really starting to feel like it's home now.

So onto other news, I have a new job, as a manager at a breakfast restaurant. It's actually a place I worked at a few years ago. When I was struggling to find a job I decided to go back. It's working out well. I work very early in the morning most days (about 5 am) but I knew that would be what I was getting into. I don't love it, but I don't hate it. The pay is not great, but it's enough.

Seby, on the other hand, had found a job he LOVED! It was the job he was holding out for, with a company that does ticket sells for concerts and comedy shows. He did customer service for them and loved the people he worked with and the atmosphere. The pay was really good. I've never seen him love a job so much.

I'm sure you've gathered by now that I've been speaking in past tense....

About a month and a half ago he got laid off. Apparently the company lost one of their biggest venue contracts shortly after he was hired and found they didn't have the need for him they anticipated. So my dear husband is left without a job... again.

It's a major bummer. We're doing ok though. I know he'll find another job soon, and we have such a rockin' deal on our place we're not worried about that. It still sucks though. He hates not working.

My only concern is that I'm trying to get to a point where I can cut back on hours at my job and go to school full time in August so I can finish my frickin' degree already (see last post for more on that!) I'm pretty sure it can still happen, but the sooner he's working again, the easier it will be!
Anyway, we'll survive, but it is some recent news worth sharing.

And the final update?


Jennefer (my sister) and I have decided to run a Marathon in San Diego in June :/That's a nervous face.

I'm excited, but I'm nervous! Neither one of us are really runners. But we know we can do it. We started training last month and are on a great plan. We've been consistently running 4 days a week, with one cross training day per week (working out in some other way, like climbing stairs or working out on an elliptical trainer) It's been super fun bonding time with my sister. Plus I'm starting to get my booty in shape, which is great! :)

And that's it: work, school, spend time with husband, run, more work, more school, more running.... such is my life these days.

Feel updated? Good! :)

2 comments:

  1. Yay!! I have been dying for an update! :) Your place is GORGEOUS! Remind me to hire you to decorate for me!

    ReplyDelete
  2. amanda - thanks for saying hi! it's a relief to know that people actually look at my blog! i'm really glad you said something. i'm gonna have to be a follower of your blog to see what you're doing. i love your house! i love your headboard and all of your wall art :)

    ReplyDelete